On Being Nice

Does it really cost so much to be nice?

If you’re wondering why I’m posting this now, look at the comments on George Wright’s latest blog entry.  Or on the post he references.  I have my opinions on the issue at hand, but I’m not going to post them here – I have no wish to get dragged into this biting and scratching game.

What irritates me about the whole situation is the rudeness of people.  This is just one example of it.  KDE has its share of incivility, although less than most online communities.  Really, the whole “I don’t agree with you, so I’m going to hurl abuse at you” thing just doesn’t cut it.

I’d like to point readers to an example of how to respond to people you don’t agree with.

And I’d like to post a pointed XKCD issue:

On Being Nice

Internet Argument

6 Responses to “On Being Nice”

  1. Team America Says:

    You are an idiot.

    When humans are not nice to other humans, they want to make them lose their cool, not solve problems.

    It’s an ape thing. Get used to it.

  2. randomguy3 Says:

    Well, I think Team America’s comment sums it up, really. The middle line on its own would have been a constructive comment. The rest is useless and rude.

    And you’ll have to try better than that to make me lose my cool. I have a lot of patience.

  3. George Wright Says:

    Thanks Alex. I think I’ve kept my cool on my blog but I’m not really appreciating the incredibly rude insults that are being hurled at me, all for pointing out that people are offended! Gosh, whatever happened to common human decency?

  4. MamiyaOtaru Says:

    Your “example of how to respond to people you don’t agree with” involved writing an exceedingly long missive, done after a not insignificant amount of research. Whop has time for that? People you disagree with you aren’t going to change their minds any more than you are. Novel length polite responses are useless.

  5. Thomas Zander Says:

    The subtext (tooltip) of that xkcd is left out!! And it was the best part :)

    Image subtext:
    “It’s easier to be an asshole to words than to people.”

  6. randomguy3 Says:

    @MamiyaOtaru:

    Perhaps. It depends whether you really want people to change their views or not.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

